What does the “reset” button on my router do?

This button resets it back to factory defaults, which will require us to reconfigure the unit. Some relatives/friends (and even some 3rd party tech support people) have a tendency to want to try this solution. If you press the button and reset the router, you will likely take your connection down until it is properly reconfigured.

Do not reset your router unless you are instructed to do so by a qualified support technician.